We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Confused on the public transport

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Confused on the public transport

Hello, next month I will be traveling to Tokyo for the first time and plan to spend 6 days exploring the city. I'm confused on the public transport. Do I need to purchase JR pass even though I am just going to be Tokyo ? Or are there any other option? What are the cheapest transport for me to go places there.

I need your help here as I am new to Japan and planning a trip in a month to Tokyo is just overwhelming. Thank you

Mentioned in this post
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Illinois
Destination Expert
for Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52,958 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Confused on the public transport

A Suica stored value card is all you'll need for Tokyo - http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/pass/suica.html - valid on all public transport in Tokyo. In general - transit passes for Tokyo are not a good value.

Mentioned in this post
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 posts
162 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Confused on the public transport

As Dave mentioned above, get the Suica. Are you flying into Narita and how are you getting from the airport to the city? If you are planning on taking the train, consider getting the NEX+Suica package. With this you can take the Narita Express (NEX) to/from the airport to the city, and you'll also have the Suica to use when getting around Tokyo. Top up the value in your Suica as when needed.

You don't need a JR pass if you are only going to be in Tokyo and not traveling outside of Tokyo.

Mentioned in this post
Narita
Narita
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Philadelphia...
Level Contributor
5,917 posts
27 reviews