We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

snorkeling trip plan suggestion

3 posts
1 review
Save Topic
snorkeling trip plan suggestion

Hi,

I am planning a 4D/3N snorkeling trip to KK. It's my first time to the area. Based on my own research, I think those islands near Tawau is too overkill for snorkeling, and I don't think i will have enough time flying from HK. So i am mainly tossing up between two options:

1. staying at the city and join the day trips by the local operators to go to the nearby snorkeling spots...

2. stay at a hotel where you can do snorkel just off the hotel's jetty/reefs. Based on my research, Gayana Eco Resort is an option but the reviews are quite mixed. I am also considering a very new hotel called Gaya Island Resort but there is hardly any information i can find on the web. Any other water bunglows type of hotels near KK?

I am of course open to other suggestions. Thanks for your help in advance.

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
223 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: snorkeling trip plan suggestion

Hi,

The best snorkeling spot near KK would be the TAR Marine Park.

sabahtravelguide.com/mapguide/default.asp…

All the best!

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
234 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: snorkeling trip plan suggestion

There's little reason to stay on the islands if cost in an issue. Boat rides to TAR Marine Park are only 30mins or so. That means you may opt to stay at any of the city's hotel (such as Hyatt) or full-fledged resorts like the two Shangri-las, Nexus Karambunai, etc. But if cost is no issue & you are willing to contend with the mixed review of Gayana Resort, you may explore this option.