We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Underwater camera.

Wakefield, United...
Level Contributor
166 posts
196 reviews
Save Topic
Underwater camera.

Hi all, can anyone recommend a good underwater camera for a reasonable price? (around £300)

I am a novice photographer/ snorkeler.

We will be going to Biyadoo next month and i am hoping to get some decent holiday pics.

Cheers

Northern Ireland...
Level Contributor
9,124 posts
285 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Underwater camera.

Olympus tough TG 1... Check out my review of park hyatt and athuruga

Wolverhampton...
Level Contributor
1,010 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Underwater camera.

I can highly recommend a gopro hero 3 black edition,sure they are primarily a video camera but you can also take great photos and even extract good stills from video. It comes with underwater housing, and has a variety of mounts for it. Here's a video I made using mine. Got it for 225 from play dot com. Skip to abiut 1.45 as the start is a bit boring.

Watch "Kuredu, Maldives 2013" on YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/watch…

Edited: 23 December 2013, 07:54
Wolverhampton...
Level Contributor
1,010 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Underwater camera.

Forgot to say the best thing about the gopro is ability to take great 'selfies' with the marine life, I have some fantastic photos with a turtle between me and the camera or manta rays in front of me snorkeling. Just makes the photos your own and not something you could easily grab from Google images.

England, United...
Destination Expert
for Maldives
Level Contributor
9,226 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Underwater camera.

Hi

We have done quite a bit of research on this and i think the Cannon D20 is the best all rounder in this price range .