We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to stay in Moscow & San Petersburg

Which Moscow hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
San Miguel de...
Level Contributor
105 posts
833 reviews
Save Topic
Where to stay in Moscow & San Petersburg

Hello.

I'm travelling to Moscow and San Petersburg in January.

It is my first time in Russia so I's appreciate any advice on where it is safer and more convinient to accommodate (in both cities).

I'm on a tight budget, but I'm loking for a place which is reliable.

Thanks in advance!!!

Betty

Coventry, United...
Level Contributor
1,080 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Where to stay in Moscow & San Petersburg

Neither city have much in the way of budget hotels, so your going to most likely look for hostels if you are on a tight budget.

A site such as hostels.com would probably be a good place to start looking or you could try seeing if there's any reviews here too on TA.

Auckland Region...
Level Contributor
964 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Where to stay in Moscow & San Petersburg

Suggest that you consider visa requirements and what accommodation documentation is required and then consider where yiou can get the docs from an "authorised" provider. See #5 below.

This comes from......

…rusembassy.org/rusvisa.html#tourist

<<Russian Tourist Visa

The following documents should be submited to the Russian Embassy or Consulate to obtain a Tourist Visa to enter Russia:

1. Your original passport with at least 2 blank visa-designated pages (passport must be valid for at least 6 months after intended departure date from Russia).

2. Two copies of Russian visa application form, completed and signed.

3. Two passport-size photos signed on the back.