We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cost of visa?

North Wales
Level Contributor
52 posts
46 reviews
Save Topic
Cost of visa?

Being a complete novice to this - ie trip to Russia (albeit very short) anyone any idea what the going rate for "invitation & visa" should be? I seem to be finding very diverse figures!! Thanks!

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cost of visa?

I have been researching this also and it appears that the Visa support letter (AKA the 'invitation') is $30 and the Visa application is $131.

North Wales
Level Contributor
52 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Cost of visa?

Thanks Thrillrider! That seems more reasonable than the price I've seen on the CIBT website of 172GBP exc VAT (more than the cost of the hotel!!) I feel as though I'm doing an exam at school again with these questions haha! Hope the results are better :-)

St Petersburg Russia
Destination Expert
for St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
2,705 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Cost of visa?

Your hotel, if it is honest, will send the invitation for free via email. It costs them nothing to create it.

The problem with UK is that the Russian consulates have contracted with a visa service, with quite probably a major kickback to them, for 3rd party processing. The new contractor is VFS Global http://ru.vfsglobal.co.uk/

They charge 25.85Pounds for dropping it off and 50Pounds for the Consular fee.