We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

(Yet Another) Visa Question

Amsterdam, The...
Level Contributor
31 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
(Yet Another) Visa Question

Me: US citizen, EU resident

Question: want to go to Piter this summer for about three weeks (been there before), partly to have a vacation, partly to take a language course, partly to do some research (I'm a writer). Assumed I'd get a tourist visa, as I'll be there under 30 days, and the language program says that many students come on tourist visas - and not for nothing, it's 100 euro less than the business visa.

Now, the visa service that I thought I'd be using in my country of residence says, "you really shouldn't be using a tourist visa, this could get you in trouble - you really should be getting a business visa, because you're not going as a tourist." They said they'd get me the tourist visa, but advised against it, and said they're not responsible if there's trouble.

My first reaction was to think that they were clearly just trying to sell me the more expensive visa, because I just can't imagine how anything I'm planning on doing in Piter - museums, library, language school - would cause problems with border control in any way. But should I be concerned about this?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Alla Tours
Sightseeing Tours
SPB Tours
Sightseeing Tours, Historical & Heritage Tours, City Tours
TJ Travel
Historical & Heritage Tours, Sightseeing Tours, City Tours
Insider Tour
City Tours, Cultural Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Private Tours
Plymouth, Minnesota
Destination Expert
for Moscow
Level Contributor
5,521 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: (Yet Another) Visa Question