We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malaria tablets

mcn
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
16 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Malaria tablets

malaria tablets, do you need these if visiting elephant sanctuary or firefly river. Thanks for your help.

KSJ
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Malaria tablets

I've been travelling in Malaysia for the last 21 years - usually every 18 months or so. The main rule (as I understand it) is to avoid the mossies (mosquito - for non Australans). I used to take the anti malaria medication, typhoid, Hep etc ..... but I found the side effects to much load on my body (its getting older!!). If youre going to the fireflys (one of te most amazing things I've ever seen & well worth the travel) take a long sleeved (lightweight) shirt & carry an insect repellant in your water resistant bag/knapsack, I don't worry about the meds unless I'm going off the common tourist track, Malaysia s a very modern & progressive country now with excellent public health regulations (compared to 20+ years ago) - hope u have a wonderful time :-). BTW the non motorised canoes will give you a far better show the fireflys than a motorised tour, it's a bit more $ but the fireflys are less stressed so they don't hide - cheers

Edited: 16 February 2012, 03:00
KSJ
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Malaria tablets