We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

recommend a sun cream for prickly heat/fair skin

Which Gumbet hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Level Contributor
100 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
recommend a sun cream for prickly heat/fair skin

Sorry i know this isnt actually about gumbet but its my first time to turkey and i is weather related.

I am fair skinned and burn easily. I know i will need a high factor in august.

I also suffer with prickly heat and its often made worse and more irritated by sun cream. When i have used oil rather than cream it has always been better but they tend to come in pressurised aerosol cans and dont go very far.

I have been told that the once a days are best for prickly heat but i would be scared id burn with it been so hot? I tried calypso once a day in mexico last year but was scared i was burning so put my husbands cream over the top and got the worst prickly heat i have ever had and had to stay indoors for 2 days!

If anyone can give me any rcommendations anything is worth a try? I was told to take antihistamines for 2 weeks prior and whilst away and this had no effect either?

glasgow
Level Contributor
264 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: recommend a sun cream for prickly heat/fair skin

I have the same problem as you. I've found the best for me is boots soltan once a day. It comes in quite high factors too.

I also find that going into the sea or pool frequently to keep cool helps because sweat on your skin can make the prickly heat worse.

The boots after sun gel is also better for me than the cream.

Antihistamine tablets can help with the itching too.

Rosehearty, United...
Level Contributor
10,190 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: recommend a sun cream for prickly heat/fair skin