We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

getting a tourist visa

Which Rio de Janeiro hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
213 posts
Save Topic
getting a tourist visa

I'm from Houston, and this is my first time applying for a visa to visit another country. I will be in Rio De Janeiro on Feb 10. Anyone from Houston or Texas area know how to get a tourist visa? Do I need to purchase my plane tickets first? How soon should I get a tourist visa? As soon as possible or within 90 days from the date i will arrive there?

memphis
Level Contributor
386 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: getting a tourist visa

http://www.brazilhouston.org/

Lunenburg, Canada
Destination Expert
for Saint John, Foz do Iguacu, Iguazu National Park
Level Contributor
3,651 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: getting a tourist visa

Hi Houston!

We Canadians require visas to enter Brazil just like you Americans do. I had to jump through all the hoops for our trip.

I believe that Brazil has a consulate in Houston. You'll get better service if you can apply in person.

They will take your passport off you so that the visa can be affixed inside. (The visa is a sticker that occupies a full passport page.) Here's hoping you do not have other foreign travel coming up very soon, such as to Canada, in case the consulate needs to keep the passport for an administrative period.

My understanding is that you do not need plane tickets in advance. However, be mindful that you have to travel within 90 days of the date the visa is issued. It is said that the visas expire, and if you apply too early they say you'll have to start all over again. Be careful not to apply too far in advance.