We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cheapest, best time to go to Rio!?

ottawa
2 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Cheapest, best time to go to Rio!?

Hello!

Im a second year student wanting to travel to Rio during the summer months (may-august) and I was wondering which time would be the best to travel?

Also if anyone knows any resorts that are pretty well priced that would be amazing :)

Philadelphia...
Destination Expert
for Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
22,841 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cheapest, best time to go to Rio!?

May is a wonderful time of year to visit Rio. Cooler temperatures, lower humidity, and prices for rooms are not as high, although don't expect any great bargains.

Not sure what you mean by "resort." If you're a student on a budget, you might want to consider booking a hostel. Have a look at the links below and read the reviews to see if any of them might suit your budget and your needs.

http://bit.ly/cUdz2F

http://bit.ly/yjNa19

http://bit.ly/A7XCmr

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
585 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Cheapest, best time to go to Rio!?

There really are no "resorts" in Rio De Janeiro - the city - like you will find in some beach resort cities. There is nothing cheap about Rio regardless. But for "cheap" look for March to June, then September until the end of November. Actually, the American Airlines Award award travel calendar is a good guide to follow....anytime they offer 40K AAdvantage miles for R/T travel (versus 60 or 120) to travel to Rio is a cheaper time to travel to Rio.

Based on your timeframe you indicated, May - August, I would probably suggest May.

If you are on a budget, I would also recommend an apartment rental versus a hotel. Hotels are very expensive year around. Hostels is another option....

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor