We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Will my Massage therapy education transfer to Panama?

Seattle
1 post
Save Topic
Will my Massage therapy education transfer to Panama?

I am currently licensed as a massage therapist in the US (1200 hours education). I want to relocate to Panama and am wondering if there is organized schooling for this down there, if so, will my credentials carry over? Who would I contact for specific information? I really appreciate any response. Thanks.

Bocas del Toro
8 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Will my Massage therapy education transfer to Panama?

Hi Meg,

I am not an expert in this field, but if you want to live and work in Panama it is not as simple as it might sound. Panama citizens are studying abroad and their decrees are acepted here. However, I do not know how this applies to foreigners. People that I know to have special skills so far have only worked on a voluntary basis.

Washington DC...
Level Contributor
56 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Will my Massage therapy education transfer to Panama?

Meg,

In Panama, when people think of massages, they think of it in an erotic nature, so trying to set up a business there, might get miscontrued. So, I would suggest, locating all the spas in the city and hotels and asking if they are looking for a licensed person.

good luck

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
622 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Will my Massage therapy education transfer to Panama?