We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

looking for snow

tuscaloosa, alabama
1 post
Save Topic
looking for snow

i'm a high school teacher/coach looking for a place that will have a great chance of snow during the winter break. i have two toddlers and a wife that i need to gave a great couple of days to because of my busy sports seasons (football ending and baseball starting). i know it may be impossible but any ideas?

Atlanta, Georgia
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
Level Contributor
29,107 posts
430 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: looking for snow

Check out Cloudmont Mt. ski in Mentone or Sky Valley ski in Sky Valley, Ga. Both places make snow when the temps are right.

Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
3,911 posts
403 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: looking for snow

Real snow anywhere in AL is not very likely. Not that it doesn't happen but it's not common. You need to either go farther north and/or to much higher elevations to have any real chance of snow on any given winter day. Even TN doesn't have much snow lately.

Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: looking for snow

For snow I'd head for the Brasstown Bald area....doesn't get any higher than that in Georgia....(smile).

For a great winter break with a chance of snow...I recommend going to Dillard....specifically, the Dillard House! Great restaurant and accomodations....they even have a petting zoo and pony rides for the toddlers. Dillard is very close to Sky Valley (where they make snow if they have too) OR if you want to really make a hit with the wife and toddlers, go to The Cabbage Patch - Babyland General in Cleveland on your way home....!!!

Metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
1 post
10 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: looking for snow