We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time to Shanghai - things to do alone

Which Shanghai hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
469 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
First time to Shanghai - things to do alone

Hello,

I will be going to Shanghai to meet a friend who is doing some business there. It is my first time in Shanghai and we will be spending time together, however for approximately half a day on Day 2 and a full day (until the evening/night) on Day 3, I will have to spend time alone as my friend will be taking care of business in another region.

Soooo, my questions are:

1) What are some things I could safely and easily do alone in the city? We will most likely be staying at the Crowne Plaza. I like taking photos of areas that offer a lot of history and culture (streets with colorful decor, cafes, Chinese culture..) as well as shopping. :-)

I am used to traveling around by myself in places like Bali or Tokyo, but guess am a little hesitant about Shanghai as it's my first time.

2) Is it safe or easy for a female to travel around the city alone (when I speak no Chinese)? I know no city is 100% safe, but I was wondering if there are any certain precautions I should take - i.e. best not to travel alone at night around certain areas.

I am browsing through the TA forum for information, but would appreciate any personal suggestion from fellow travelers. :-)

Thank you.

Shanghai ,China
Level Contributor
178 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: First time to Shanghai - things to do alone

Shanghai is relatively safe city. Most of places in Shanghai are well-secured ,especially during the Expo period.