We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mango Farms in South Nicoya?

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
99 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Mango Farms in South Nicoya?

I have been traveling to Costa Rica for 7 years and have been spending a lot of time in the Tamarindo and Montezuma area renting. I want to move to Costa Rica in the next few years and possibly purchase a mango farm in the south nicoya. Does anyone know of any mango farms to visit in the area to speak with their management about the business?

THANKS!!!

Grecia, Costa Rica
Destination Expert
for Province of Alajuela
Level Contributor
7,956 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Mango Farms in South Nicoya?

You look pretty ripped to be a Mango Farmer, but okay...

Mango farms are everywhere, small and large. Cant speak to any specifically, but once you are on the ground it will be easy to find one close by, they are truly everywhere.

Food for thought (no pun) there really isnt a lot of money in Mangos... hope you dont think to get rich on it, it will be a simple existence, which is a fine way to live, but know you will not be living in the lap of Mango luxury.

Good Luck, sound like a nice "life adventure"

Cheers

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25,654 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Mango Farms in South Nicoya?

Many mango farmers are converting their orchards to housing developments, if this is any clue to you. As Inca said, not much money in it. Why mangos, I wonder? Why not avocados or papayas or bananas?

Frankly, not a really smart idea to think in terms of buying any kind of farm in Costa Rica with the idea of making money at it. It's tough, just like everywhere else, and Costa Ricans have the in-depth knowledge and experience that you don't have.