We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

long term

Tel Aviv
1 post
Save Topic
long term

Hi!

I'm planning to move to Costa Rica for a year and would like to get some information on places and rentals. I'm an English teacher and my husband is a surfer. Our kids will be about 2 and 3 by the time we come, therefore we need a safe, idyllic place close to the beach (good waves) where I also get the chance to teach. So, who can help us out?

Thanks, Maxi

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
197 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: long term

Do you have a job already lined up, or do you plan on getting one here when you show up? If you have a job lined up make sure it is a reputable company and you have validation of all you paperwork.

If you do not have a job lined up I highly recommend researching the rules about living long term and working in Costa Rica because they are somewhat strict. It can be an exciting adventure if you are young and single, but with a family it presents a number of problems.

If you and you family want to live long term in Costa Rica you should be advised that a typical tourist visa is only good for 90 days. After that you and your family will need to leave the country for 72 hours and then you are allowed to reenter. The only way to avoid this is to become a resident and since you are going to be there for only a year that will not be possible.

Now to work in Costa Rica you need to be either a resident, citizen or have a work visa. It is illegal for anyone else to work in Costa Rica. Obtaining a work visa is virtually impossible and since you will not be obtaining residency you will, in essence, need to find a job an work illegally. With a family it can present problems.