We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel la mariposa

Which Manuel Antonio National Park hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Hotel la mariposa

After doing some research, I am considering staying at the La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio. The reason I am going in this direction is that it seems like the hotel grounds and location would be ideal for me as I am an amateur photographer and my wife is use to the Sandals type resorts in Jamaica.

A question I have is, are there in fact decent priced restaurants in walking distance to this hotel? I am getting mixed information as to if it is in walking distance to town. I am looking not to spend a to of money, as the main reason I am going to Costa Rica is to photograph birds and scenery and my wife likes to spend time on the beach.

I gather this hotel is fairly close to Manuel Antonio Park which is another reason why I am leaning towards this hotel. (This hotel is at the high end of my budget, but based on the reviews it might be worth it.)

another issue I am not too sure of is via Expedia, there were no transportation arrangements. I have not booked this hotel yet, as I was hoping some of you would chime in and give your opinions. I gather it is about a 3hr ride from SJO. what is the average cost and who would you suggest I book this with?

Finally, I made all these decisions based on reading reviews and price and available dates. My ultimate objective was to find a nicer hotel for my wife that was close to a beach. I was looking for scenery to photograph, and chose this area because it seems to have both of these. My first choice was the All inclusive Allegro in the North West region, but it seems to be remote and not close to anything of interest.