We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bora Bora v's Maldives v's Mauritius

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Bora Bora v's Maldives v's Mauritius

Hello, I'm trying to decide on where to go for my next holiday. This holiday will be a treat for me!! I'm looking at Bora Bora, Maldives or Mauritius to stay in an over water bungalow. I've only ever been overseas to Fiji, Bali and Phuket before. I am travelling alone. Hoping someone can help me out with which would be the best place to travel too. Don't really care if I do nothing all day, just want beautiful scenery, blue oceans to wake up to every morning and a OWB to step out directly into the water!!!

This is my first time on here too so thank you everyone in advance if you can help me decide :-)

Anchorage
Level Contributor
1,318 posts
132 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bora Bora v's Maldives v's Mauritius

I haven't been to either yet but I will say there is a post on this forum which I think is titled something like "where next" and it is pretty recent such as a June posting. Look tere to get some thoughts. We head to FP in March and have figured out a way to get o the Maldives now in just under 24 hrs flying time so we are hoping to go the following year. From what I see on the various Maldive resort websites the OWB look much better in FP. In fact we are doing OWB in FP and we won't do them in the Maldives. If you want to explore more islands it will be easier and cheaper in FP. FP should be worlds closer to you too. The topography also looks more lush in FP. I think they are very different places and each have there fans. We were on Lankayan in Borneo a couple of years ago and it looks like the Maldives. Good luck deciding - both look/sound awesome.

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 posts
3 reviews