We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johannesburg - 3 day safari Kurger Park and/or longeNairobi

Which Johannesburg hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Geneva, Switzerland
9 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Johannesburg - 3 day safari Kurger Park and/or longeNairobi

Can anyone recommend a safari option for Kruger park 02-05 March? I am also considering traveling to Nairobi from 08 March but so far everything I have found is very expensive.

I am traveling alone on a budget around a business trip.On my own I do not dare to rent a car as I am sure to get lost and ignorantly end up in trouble.

This is my first time in South Africa and it seems a pity not to add a few extra days to discover at least something of the region

Many thanks for your advice.

Edited: 23 February 2013, 19:53
Baltimore, Maryland
Destination Expert
for Washington DC
Level Contributor
2,010 posts
240 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Johannesburg - 3 day safari Kurger Park and/or longeNairobi

Just wondering, what were you planning on doing in Nairobi? Nairobi National PArk? Karen Blixen? etc

Naracoorte
Level Contributor
2,863 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Johannesburg - 3 day safari Kurger Park and/or longeNairobi

If you aren't keen on renting a car I would consider getting a transfer via Ashton's Shuttle or similar to Hazyview. If you google accommodation options for Hazyview you will find there are many places for all budgets From there you can access day tours into Kruger - there are a number of operators.

Alternatively there may be organised 3 night tours which utilise Sanparks accommodation. Again, a google search should throw up a number of mid priced options.

Randburg, Gauteng...
Level Contributor
977 posts
39 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Johannesburg - 3 day safari Kurger Park and/or longeNairobi