We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Complete Novice

In cooperation with: Cape Town Tourism
Birmingham, United...
Level Contributor
187 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Complete Novice

Okay, so another complete novice here!

Last year, with the help of TA we organised an amazing trip and are hoping you guys can help us again.

We would have to go in October (possibly early Nov).

Can someone tell me exactly what the weather would be like in October? - I've read all sorts online

about winds and temperatures. Can someone tell me in plain English please just HOW hot should we expect? I mean, would it be hot enough to sunbathe? (Not planning on doing much of that just trying to get an idea of the temp)

I understand from other threads the key sights are:

Table Mountain (foot or cable)

Winelands (an hours drive out?)

Shark Diving

We would like to fly on to Kruger after too.

Any help would be really appreciated!

Queensland...
Level Contributor
2,062 posts
73 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Complete Novice

Coming from the UK i would do Kruger first. From mid-October temps rapidly rise at Kruger and by November it can be hot&humid. Plus 1st rains may have started early Nov. Plus flight to JBG from UK is shorter. Then fly onto CT. Rains in CT end late October and November is usually lovely with noon-mid afternoon temps around 25C and days rapidly growing in length. This makes a difference when driving to see sights. Then you can fly direct back to UK from CT. easy really. Can you sunbathe in 25C sunshine? I'll let you decide.

Birmingham, United...
Level Contributor
187 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Complete Novice

Thanks for your advice.

I am just worried about the weather because so many websites say the best time to best is Dec-March?

How likely is it to rain at CT in October?

Port Elizabeth