We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandy beach

londonhappytripper
Level Contributor
81 posts
54 reviews
Save Topic
Sandy beach

I am planning a holiday in this part of Turkey, but all hotels descriptions both in Oludeniz and Fethiye seem to be or a pebble beach, like most people I would definitely prefer a sandy beach, is there any hotel with a decent beach? my ideal one would be a 4 star within 5/10 walk to a town, please help!!

Mentioned in this post
Turkey
Turkey
Europe
Oludeniz
Oludeniz
Mugla Province, Turkey
Fethiye
Fethiye
Mugla Province, Turkey
An Englishman abroad
Level Contributor
5 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Sandy beach

Hi there, my wife and I have been holidaying in Oludeniz for the past 4 or 5 years, I know all of the brochures and what have you say that Oludeniz is the best beach in Europe etc etc but they are wrong on both counts, firstly as you and I both know Turkey is in Asia Minor and not Europe, secondly the beach is very far from being anywhere near 'the best beach in Europe' by a country mile. The beach is in fact mainly pebbles and there is a rather steep drop off when you get into the water, it's also quite breezy down there. The best bits of the beach are probably at either end (though you do have to pay a small admission fee when you go to the lagoon end of the beach because it is designated as a national park). If you are looking for a slice of 'ethnic' Turkey then I am afraid you are about two years too late in Oludeniz, I can't speak for Fethiye because I have not visited there but beware of Oludeniz I think it is now Turkish for Blackpool which is a crying shame as it used to be such a lovely laid back place. Sadly we will not be returning. Hope this helps

Cardinal Sin

Mentioned in this post
Oludeniz
Oludeniz
Mugla Province, Turkey
Europe
Europe
World