We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Local expert, please

Which Buenos Aires hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
636 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Local expert, please

I am not getting any responses to my question about EZE

Last year there were reported "near misses" due to the lack of radar. Is that still a problem? Has it been repaired? What is the situation at this point--and if not fixed when will it be?

Thank you

DJ
Princeton, New...
Level Contributor
3,479 posts
54 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Local expert, please

I'm not a local expert, but I was just in BsAs and asked a colleague there about this. He said that he knew nothing about it and flies out of EZE monthly. There are hundreds of flights in and out of EZE daily, so if this were truly a problem, I think there would be more chatter about it.

St. Petersburg...
Level Contributor
1,144 posts
41 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Local expert, please

Sorry, not a local nor an expert but there was an article just yesterday about an upcoming 400 million (USD) renovation/addition to the airport, so I would think if they're going to pay for that, the radar would've been fixed by now.

San Clemente...
Destination Expert
for Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11,392 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Local expert, please

During 2007 the main radar system at EZE was hit by lighting. The airport switched to it's secondary system at that time.

As far as I know the primary system at EZE is operating and all airlines are operating at normal lovels. There were some delays at the end of April due to the smoke which was quite thick around the city.