We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamondbacks and concert - hotel and ticket suggestions

Which Phoenix hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Las Vegas
4 posts
Save Topic
Diamondbacks and concert - hotel and ticket suggestions

Hello all,

First time poster. Lots of great post and information here. Looking for some help. My wife and I are coming to Phoenix the weekend of August 24 for a concert at US Airways arena. This is my first time in Phoenix (other than airport layovers).

We were planning to spend Friday night in the Phoenix area and travel to Sedona for a spa day on Saturday, then I noticed the Diamondbacks are in town against my hometown team the Cubs. Needless to say I may pitch staying in town on Saturday. We are not the biggest baseball fans in the world, but we both love taking in a game at a great ballbark. My questions are:

1) Is Sedona worth the drive and if so what are some spas you would recommend (I'm thinking couples massage)? We would be staying one night (Satuday the 25th).

2) What do you suggest as far as purchasing tickets for the Diamondbacks game? What are our chances of getting walk up tickets the day of the games (I hear the Cubs are a popular draw there), either via the ticket window or from a scalper? Is scalping legal outside the ballpark? Or should we just buy from the diamondbacks website? Would we have a better chance of getting tickets to the Saturday evening or Sunday afternoon game?

3) Is it worth pushing our return flight back a couple hours (we live in Vegas, about an hour away flight time so not much trouble there) if we could go to Sedona on Saturday and make the game on Sunday? I'm concerned about the heat on a Sunday afternoon game in August?