We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to stay on 1st trip to CR?

Which Dominical hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
892 posts
228 reviews
Save Topic
Where to stay on 1st trip to CR?

I've never been to CR, but we are considering a vacation there. We are beach lovers, and hubby will want to rest more than explore :(. Where would you suggest? I've thought about Dominical and the Marina Ballena area, Manuel Antonio, Punta Uvita on the Caribbean coast, or the Conchal area. I love to snorkel so that would be a huge plus! Monkeys would be fun to watch! I like laid back. Thanks!

Silverthorne...
Level Contributor
609 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Where to stay on 1st trip to CR?

I am a novice to CR myself but have been once before and we are returning this April. My last trip was spent in the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area and we spent a day in Jaco on the way there and a day in Domincal mid-trip.

Manuel Antonio is beautiful! It's a quaint town with the national park on one end and restaurants/shops/hotels all around. We stayed on the Quepos end, directly on the bus route. We could walk to Quepos and bus to Manuel Antonio. While we went to Quepos every day, it's not a pretty, quaint town like Manuel Antonio is. We found plenty to do and my friends have spent more time there since then. They love it.

We travel with a national (Tico). His opinion of Jaco is not pleasant after dark. Not a pretty beach right in town. i don't remember much about it.

Dominical is a cute little surfer town with dirt roads, hotels and restaurants. While it was too quiet for us back then, we will be staying 5 nights in Dominicalito (2-3 KM away) this upcoming April for some relaxing fun in the sun, beach time and surf lessons (hopefully).