We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A week in Plakias

Birkenhead, United...
Level Contributor
163 posts
47 reviews
Save Topic
A week in Plakias

Hi

My partner and I are spending a week in Plakias at the end of July. It's my first time in Crete and she hasn't been for nearly 30 years!

We'd appreciate any advice on:

- whether there are boat excursions from Plakias or nearby

- recommended places to eat that don't break the bank (we prefer family-run places with character)

- which meals are Cretan specialties and worth looking out for

- any tour operators who have shops in Plakias where excursions can be booked

- which supermarket people would recommend for the best range of products and lowest prices

As you can see...I don't ask much(!) - but any help welcome.

Best wishes

Bob

Mentioned in this post
Crete
Crete
Greece
Norwich, United...
Level Contributor
2 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: A week in Plakias

Taverna Apanemo is a great place to eat,so is the Kafenion,there are daily boat trips to

Preveli other boat trips are available.There are several supermarkets,a really good bakers,

two butchers and a fishmongers,it pays to shop around,everything is easy to find and the

locals are very friendly and helpful.

Rethymnon, Greece
Destination Expert
for Crete
Level Contributor
2,673 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: A week in Plakias

Hi

My favourite taverns are Atlantis and Tasomanolis in Plakias.

Great food from both. I love the fried ice-cream (!) in Atlantis as a dessert!

Mentioned in this post
Tasomanolis
Tasomanolis
255 Reviews
Crete, Greece
Birkenhead, United...
Level Contributor
163 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: A week in Plakias