We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Advice on renting a car from Los Angeles to Las Vegas.

London
4 posts
Save Topic
Advice on renting a car from Los Angeles to Las Vegas.

Hi all! I would like some advice since this is my absolute first time in the United States, and Los Angeles. I will be arriving at LAX at 7pm and have to get to Vegas on the next day.

I am NOT considering Greyhound but am considering Southwest but the price seems a bit steep.

A couple of questions:

1. Would renting a car be for a day and driving to Las Vegas to dump it be cheaper or is flying cheaper?

2. Is it reccommended I drive to Las Vegas from LAX if this is my first time driving here?

3. Is it easy to drive to Las Vegas? I'm not the best of drivers...

4. Is it safe driving to there?

5. Can you guys recc some good car rental agencies that allow me to hire from LAX for one day and dump it in Las Vegas once I get there? I'm pretty bad at finding sites and all the options and check boxes on sites give me a headache.

Thanks guys I know very little and going in this blind right now. Appreciate any help I can get!

Los Angeles
Destination Expert
for Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15,783 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Advice on renting a car from Los Angeles to Las Vegas.

My guess is that it would be cheaper to fly than to rent a car for a day and drive. Southwest charges $59 to fly to Las Vegas from LAX. By car, Las Vegas is around 300 miles distance. That's likely to be at least $30 in petrol, at least, plus the rental fee - I'd guess you'd be looking at $50 for a one day car rental with pickup at LAX and drop off in Las Vegas, so figure $80 minimum to drive. Flying is also quicker - Vegas is about 5 hours by car, flying is less than 1 hour (plus time at the airport).