We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

weekend trips from LA. help please!

Singapore, Singapore
5 posts
Save Topic
weekend trips from LA. help please!

Hi, im a student going to UCLA with a couple of friends for exchange and have my fridays(hopefully) to sundays free for 2 weekends. Could i please get recommendations and help to plan my route for 2 weekend 3 day road trips?

I am considering

1) san diego

2) santa barbara

3) vegas

4) yosemite

5) grand canyon

is there a way to route and see them all? if its not possible, which ones are recommended? how should i plan it?

at the end of my 3 week exchange, i'll then drive to SF.

do you recommend hiring a car and driving around LA with it?

or just hiring a car every weekend for weekend trips and for my trip to SF?

which car company is trustable and most value for money?considering im below 25 years old.

i really need the help and am kind of clueless, thanks in advance!

Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
25,711 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: weekend trips from LA. help please!

Well, you could do some of the trip car-free.

For example, a trip to San Diego, take Public Transit to Union Station in Downtown LA, and then take the Amtrak Train to the Santa Fe Station in Downtown San Diego, and then get a Hotel on/near a San Diego Trolley Station, such as Downtwon San Diego, Little Italy or the Old Town San Diego Area, and then sightsee from the Hotel.

Santa Barbara is another car-free trip, once again, public transit to Union Station, and then Amtrak (this time North bound) to Santa Barbara, it is compact enough that public buses, walking and taxis will give you plenty to do for the weekend.