We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Another dumb question - About Parking

Kuala Lumpur...
Destination Expert
for Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11,862 posts
45 reviews
Save Topic
Another dumb question - About Parking

You can see I am quite new to this.

How does parking payment work in LA?

Do you take a ticket on entrance and pay a guy cash at exit? Or is it common to use a machine to pay on exit?

How do you pay valet parking? So for example W Westwood says Valet Parking per day is USD 38.50, do you pay upfront? or when you collect the car? What if I enter and exit multiple times? Do I tip the valet each time? How much is a valet tip in LA?

Thanks in advance guys.

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15,783 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Another dumb question - About Parking

The simple answer is, it depends.

For parking in a parking lot, normally you take a ticket when you enter the lot. These days its fairly common that you have to pay at a machine before you go back to your car, by inserting your ticket into the machine and then paying either cash or with credit card. Your ticket is then returned to you and you insert it in the ticket recepticle at the parking lot exit. However, though its becoming rarer, some parking lots still have human attendants, in which case you will take a ticket either from them or from a machine when you enter the lot, but to exit the lot you drive to the exit, hand them your ticket and then pay them cash.