We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Staying in Santa Cruz and San Francisco for a Few Days

Which Santa Cruz hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
East Lansing...
Level Contributor
11 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Staying in Santa Cruz and San Francisco for a Few Days

I'm a college student (22yrs) going to a conference from April 17-20th at Stanford. After that I have a buddy who lives in Santa Cruz that I am going to hang out with for another day or two. I want to book my flight right now but I want to know if I should stay for 1 or 2 days extra. Basically I love beaches (with big waves) although I have never surfed but would like to try it out. I'm a pretty nature loving guy so I'll probably stick to the coast for the majority of the time I'm there. I'm not even sure if it is worth surfing? Wouldn't I need a wet suit?

I have a few questions, should I stay near SF in a motel and take a train down to Santa Cruz? Is that too far of a train ride? Or should I stay in Santa Cruz near my friend and then take a train back up to SF? What beaches in Santa Cruz have the biggest waves during April, if any?

I'm gonna be by myself majority of the trip and have to bring my carry on along with me most likely for a majority of the time. I'd also need a way of transportation to the airport in San Fran.

Thanks.

Santa Cruz...
Destination Expert
for Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
31,745 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Staying in Santa Cruz and San Francisco for a Few Days

Sorry, there are no trains to Santa Cruz. To get here from San Francisco or Palo Alto without a car you would need to take CalTrain to the Diridon Station in San Jose and then the Hwy 17 Express bus over the hill.

If you have a friend who lives here, he would be the best source of information on how to do what you plan.