We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surprise trip for hubby- sonoma or napa?

Which Sonoma hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
31 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Surprise trip for hubby- sonoma or napa?

Hi everyone! Thank you so much for taking the time to help me out! I'm surprising hubby with a trip to nor cal in April for his birthday. I've been to San fran once about 10 hrs ago, he's never been.

About our trip: arriving to SFO wed , departing SFO the following Tuesday. Would love 1 night in San fran and 1 full day.

Flexible about napa or sonoma- wondering if we should do both?

About us: huge foodies. Im a gourmet cook and own a catering biz. Love wine, want a 3+ star experience (but not overpriced either) but would like to be wowed by some scenery and a beautiful, clean hotel :) (romantic is a plus- hey we have 4 kids under age 7 we need it!!)

love wine, but not wine snobs or too knowledgeable about wine.

So any tips, pointers or suggestions are welcome! I'm a bit of a bargain hunter so love to find a deal (who doesn't!) so I love to research and learn as much as I can!

Thx

Huntington Beach...
Destination Expert
for Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
6,171 posts
178 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Surprise trip for hubby- sonoma or napa?

Sonoma and Napa counties are both beautiful and worth exploring. With 6 days you should be able to see quite a bit if you have a car.

I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Healdsburg www.HotelHealdsburg.com. The town of Healdsburg is will located for exploring area and is home of the Charlie Palmer's Dry Creek Kitchen, where we had a wonderful dinner. There are several other highly rated restaurants within walking distance.