We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Co Springs you amazed me!!!

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert
for Santa Fe, Mesa Verde National Park, Boulder, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21,808 posts
55 reviews
Save Topic
Co Springs you amazed me!!!

I have been visiting Colorado Springs for the past 20 years. This trip we were on family business, but still had time for some off time for dining. I was totally amazed at the dining options downtown and in Colorado City. Things sure have changed for the better.

We stayed one night at Spur and Lace BB in Old Colorado City, a quaint and quiet place walking distance to Old Colo City shops and restaurants. We ended up at Paravicini's in Old CO City for great Italian, the lasagna was the best!!! Also had the best tiramisu!!! http://www.paravicinis.com/

The next few nights we were at the new Mining Exchange Hotel in downtown CS. Beautiful room and hotel and any issues we had were quickly fixed by calling the front desk and these were all minor.

We had breakfast at Einstein's Bagels and then a late lunch at Jack Quinn's, happy hour snacks and beer/wine! Service was great. Dinner was at Springs Orleans the restaurant attached to the hotel. I had an awesome meal, Kobe beef sliders, but my husband's gumbo was a bit too salty.

Next breakfast was Panera Bread (north of DT near Lowes Home Improvement, we needed stuff) for bagels which I liked better. Lunch at Paisano's sandwiches and IlVicino Pizza for late dinner. The last night we splurged at MacKenzie's Chop House, some of the best steak I have ever had!!! If they have an aged steak special, get that!

What a change from 20 years ago when there were maybe 4 restaurants downtown and nothing going on. Great place to visit and I have totally changed my feelings for Co Springs for the better!!!