We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Condo walking to lifts

Which Vail hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
262 posts
19 reviews
Save Topic
Condo walking to lifts

I am looking for a condo walking distance to lifts, like across the street or parking lot. Ive stayed in Mammoth at 1849 condos and Park City at Shadow Ridge which were both perfect family style condos right across the street. I will have a 3 year old starting childrens ski school and I am a beginner/intermediate level.. So I am a bit confused about where to stay Lionshead vs Village vs Golden Peak. Where's most of the rentals, ski school, best lodge for lunch etc most convenient etc.

Scotland
Level Contributor
593 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Condo walking to lifts

There are ski-schools in several locations, and wherever you are there are many places for lunch and to rent skis. The kid's ski-schools are in Lionshead and Golden Peak, and adult intermidate/advanced groups also go out of Mid Vail. You can rent skis at the ski schools or at the many ski-rental places in Lionshead and Vail Village.

The ski school is fabulous - I spent many years in ski-school classes there and still prefer to pay for classes rather than ski on my own.

So, you really don't need to worry about location in Vail - it's hard to be very far at all from a ski-schoo, ski rental location or great restaurants/delis etc. The bus is free, or at least it used to be, so it's easy to get from place to place.

There's construction now in Lionshead and I'm not sure when it is supposed to be done, so you may want to find out before you decide where to stay. However, I've always stayed in or near Lionshead, so am partially to that part of Vail.