We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need to fill a day between Denver and Avon...

Which Vail hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
64 posts
247 reviews
Save Topic
Need to fill a day between Denver and Avon...

Hello, I am new to tripadvisor but am loving it. This is my first post to the forum and I am looking for some suggestions.

Last year my wife and I and the girls 3 and 6 took a road trip from Fort Worth to visit some family near Provo, UT. We were going to take more of a 'as the crow flies' approach, but decided it would be nicer to travel through the Rockies. We loved Colorado so much that we are coming back this year. This year instead of all the driving and zipping by at break neck speed through the mountains on I70 we are taking it slow and spending 9 days in Colorado. I have already booked all our hotels. Last year we had long drives and just not enough time to do things. (One day we managed to wake up in Denver, travel through the mountains, stop at Grand Junction for Colorado National Monument and still arrive in Springville UT by dinner. That was a beast of a day)

This year I plotted all our hotels in short 1 hour or so increments around the state. I am now trying to fill those days with activites for the family. I have several of the days later in the trip filled in already based on what we did last year and want to do this year. There are several days though that are pretty much empty because we don't know what's around or what's best.