We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Looking for shark teeth hunting tips

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
295 posts
31 reviews
Save Topic
Looking for shark teeth hunting tips

We'll be at the Hampton Inn on Sadler Road in late June 2010. I keep seeing that the north end of the island is best for sharks teeth. Will we find any at the beach close to the Hampton Inn? Also, are the teeth found in the water or do they make it up on the beach? I'm a complete newbie with regard to looking for sharks teeth and anything about Amelia Island as this is my first trip there.

Thanks in advance!

UK
Destination Expert
for Florida
Level Contributor
47,092 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Looking for shark teeth hunting tips

I have never been to AI, but I am an experienced Sharks tooth hunter lol.

First started looking for them 40 yrs ago in Garden city SC, now l look for them on my local manasota key beaches ;-)

I find many just lying in the sand. You just walk and look and eventually they will 'catch' your eye- you get a feel for it. They are usually black, but can be grey or brown. Just look for vaguely triangular shapes in the sand. You can fid them where the waves break, but you gotta be fast to get them before they wave does. Sometimes I find small ones next to me just sitting in my beach chair!!

Some like looking for bigger ones with metal baskets on sticks( you can find them in lcoal stores- even my walmart has them). They take them into the surf and dig in shell piles and bring back to shore to sort thru. I haven't had great success this way my self.

Good luck and have fun!

Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
295 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Looking for shark teeth hunting tips