We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worth the premium to rent in Amelia Island Plantation?

Which Amelia Island hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 posts
129 reviews
Save Topic
Worth the premium to rent in Amelia Island Plantation?

There are many villas and condos to rent on Amelia and most seem very nice. My question is this - Is it worth the extra money (10-20% more) to rent in the AIP over these other nice places? Is the environment, the privacy, security, added amenities, or convenience offered in AIP worth the premium? Thanks.

Avon, OH
Level Contributor
86 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Worth the premium to rent in Amelia Island Plantation?

Here's just one person's opinion. My husband and I have been traveling to Amelia for many many years now. We had never stayed at the Plantation until this past August. We were very curious since they have recently done over $100 M in renovations. Admittedly, we did not stay in the condos or Villas. . .we stayed at the hotel. While I think the Plantation is beautiful, I felt as if I was at an all-inclusive resort. Something like you would stay at while in the Caribbean or Mexico (only it isn't all-inclusive. . you pay for your food and drink). You could stay on the property for your whole vacation. My problem with this is. . .the rest of the island is soooo beautiful and the little town of Fernandina is so quaint and there are sooooo many really excellent restaurants and nooks and crannnies to explore on the island. In the end, I suppose it is all in what you are looking for. . .if you are looking for an all-inclusive resort feel, the Plantation is the place for you. . .but for me, I just love Amelia Island so much I would rather stay elsewhere and enjoy everything the island has to offer and stop down to