We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card

staffordshire
6 posts
Save Topic
holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card

hi all

would appreciate any advice on what to take am going in 5 wk so still have time to order from crown ,are travellers cqs easy to cash and do you need to take passport with you or will photocopy do.thanks in advance think i too am addicted to forum!!

London, United...
Level Contributor
3,312 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card

I have a fairfx pre-paid mastercard, and I have also ordered some cash from Crown. I used to use travellers cheques, but after using my fairfx card last year, wouldnt go back to TCs. My hubby had TCs last year, and had to carry his passport around, and also had budgeting issues with them (trying to decide how much he would spend!!) when we went shopping, so on a few occasions ended up using my card!!

Take whatever you feel comfortable using. I know there are a few places that dont like cashing TCs, but generally they are accepted like cash

Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
330 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card

Tinker bell, do the cards come with names on like regular mastercards? Or do they just have the numbers on so that me and my partner could share one? I really like the sound of them, not having to carry passport, record serial number of cheques etc. Thanks x

staffordshire
6 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card

Thanks tinkerbelle can you check your balance at atms with fairfax card?

Reading
Level Contributor
49 posts
1 review
Save Reply
4. Re: holiday money-cash,travellers cheques or pre-paid card