We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car rental to a 19 year old or 20 year old, does it exist?

Manchester
Level Contributor
88 posts
24 reviews
Save Topic
Car rental to a 19 year old or 20 year old, does it exist?

Does any one know if there are ANY car hire companies that will rent to a 19 or 20 year old? I really want to hire a car this time I visit, I visited last year and had to use the I-ride and greyhound to get everywhere. Which wasnt a major problem but we were restricted in terms of what time we had to leave the parks because of the shuttle leaving etc.

I have emailed a couple of companies and they have both said the minimum age is 21, its annoying really because even though I am 19 (20 next month) I have been driving for 2 1/2 years with no claims yet someone who is 21 who has held their licence for a year and not necessarily been driving can hire one.

I understand there is a young driver surcharge which I would be willing to pay. Please help I really want to hire a car :(

Special Offer
Kennedy Space Center Day Trip with...
477 reviews
from US$54.99*
US$59.00
Kennedy Space Center and Everglades...
188 reviews
from US$128.99*
Crystal River Manatee Snorkeling and...
131 reviews
from US$118.99*
Special Offer
Coca-Cola Orlando Eye, Madame...
14 reviews
from US$51.99*
US$87.87
Brookfield...
Level Contributor
1,267 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Car rental to a 19 year old or 20 year old, does it exist?

CarRentals.com works with all of the major rental agencies. If you email their customer support, they should be able to tell you which companies will rent to you and at what rate.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5,440 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Car rental to a 19 year old or 20 year old, does it exist?