We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Feeling pressured....going with the flow with small children

Santa Clarita...
Level Contributor
587 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Feeling pressured....going with the flow with small children

Now that my trip is definitely happening I'm feeling overwhelmed by DW. We are not early/rope drop people. I'm a Disneyland vet and in 30 years I've never made rope drop or early entry hours once. I've still managed to have a great time. I told a friend this and she said that if I don't go that early ill never get on any rides. Ok so no rides then I guess. :(. What other ways are there to enjoy each park with a young child? He is 6. Also does the rope drop idea apply to the water parks? I was planning on getting there by 10, staying at most 4 hours and then leaving. Thanks for your help. :)

UK
Destination Expert
for Florida
Level Contributor
47,102 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Feeling pressured....going with the flow with small children

Waterparks, getting there at 10 is probably OK. Even later if you don't care where you will sit.

But you REALLY need to get to the theme parks early if you want to ride rides w/o lines. Ask yourself, what is worse. A 60-90 min line with a whining child, or getting out of bed by 7?

You don't need to get there for rope drop, but getting to a park w/in 30 mins of opening is essential unless you like standing in line. Getting a fastpass first for the most popular ride is a must.

Your vacation, your choice. We can't help further unless we have more details (such as when are you going).

Santa Clarita...
Level Contributor
587 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Feeling pressured....going with the flow with small children