We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car Hire First Timer - Looking for any and all help and tips

Birmingham, United...
Level Contributor
96 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Car Hire First Timer - Looking for any and all help and tips

Hi guys,

So we are booking our third trip to Florida for May 2014, and this time we plan on hiring a car, which I have never done before. I have read far too many horror stories on here to allow myself to just "book and pray" so I was hoping your collective knowledge would be able to guide me.

I am 24, and will be when hiring the car, so I know I would need to pay the $25 per day surcharge, and that's fine, but I am looking for answers to the below questions, if you didn't mind, and please share any tips you have, such as pay for extra charges when you arrive with a credit card so you can dispute them when you get home if needed.

- Do I pay the young driver surcharge, and any other charges in the UK, or on arrival? I have heard both have their pros and cons, such as it's cheaper in the UK, but the US will try and charge you extra anyway.

- This will be my first time driving on foreign soil, so what sort of insurances and extras should I add to my booking to make sure I am not left out of pocket or in trouble should I have an accident or problem?

- What should I avoid? I'm easily upsold, but I know to avoid being upgraded as that can nullify any previously paid for insurance and contract.

- Is a GPS essential?

- Should I collect the car at the Airport if possible (Sanford International) or should I take a transfer to International Drive and collect the car there to avoid the toll booths?