We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

cincinnati
2 posts
Save Topic
Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

I have gone through the tripadvisor site but can you tell me some nice places for Snorkeling and dolphin watching? And as for manatees i do not have proper info on them. This is my first time to Sanibel and i might be visiting Tampa too. My trip time is dec 15th-20th. Any conditions i should be aware of ?? I know i am asking a lot but please help me if you can.

Thanks.

England
Level Contributor
1,729 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

No snorkelling around Sanibel as it's too sandy.

Plenty of dolphins year round and an excellent way to see them is by taking a ride aboard the Thriller http://sanibelthriller.com/

Manatees I have never seen around Sanibel but many others have and I am sure they will advise best place.

cincinnati
2 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

Thank you. The thriller ride looks nice. Do you know any places to snorkel maybe on mainland?

Orlando
Level Contributor
9,974 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

Unless you are on the east coast from about Palm Beach south or in the Keys, there is no good snorkeling. The water is usually not clear enough.

Sanibel Island...
Level Contributor
906 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Best places for Snorkeling, dolphin watching and manatees?

The best location for Manatee watching in the winter (especially after the gulf water cools down) is the Lee County Manatee Park in Fort Myers (on the way to Tampa, if you are headed in that direction)