We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

novice poster

Co. Down Northern...
Level Contributor
100 posts
Save Topic
novice poster

hi, this is my first attempt at joining the forum, so I'm not sure where I'm supposed to do it.

I'm from N.Ireland and my family and friends are coming for a 2 week holiday to Sarasota in July.

We are 3 families and are renting villas beside each other and also cars. Our kids range in age from 5 to 16. Any suggestions on where to go, what to see and where to eat, all on a family budget, our family consists of 4 kids 5yr old girl and boys 11, 13 and 15.

sarasota, FL
Destination Expert
for Sarasota, Venice, Siesta Key
Level Contributor
11,048 posts
168 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: novice poster

You will be coming at a time when prices are lower and there are less tourists. This will save money.

The first thing to do is enjoy the beach and the Gulf on Siesta Key. There are all types of water sports. Ther are many places to rent kayaks and canoes and other water toys.

There are many places to eat all over town.

There are also lots of parks etc.

Where in Sarasota will you be staying?

I would start doing some research by clicking on the "attractions" heading on the top of this page. This will give you some ideas.

Myakka State Park is a must do for families.

There are all types of restaurants in all price ranges all over town.

What do you enjoy? There are small family places, as well as expensive(for adults) and the usual chains you find throughout the U.S. (We even have Irish type pubs)

Let me know and I'll give you a list!

~SRQgirl

Mentioned in this post
Co. Down Northern...
Level Contributor
100 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: novice poster