We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Immigration & Customs experiences entering Tel Aviv

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Immigration & Customs experiences entering Tel Aviv

I will be flying from the US to Tel Aviv for the first time in two weeks and was curious about any tips or experiences entering the country, or leaving.

Boston...
Level Contributor
158 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Immigration & Customs experiences entering Tel Aviv

I'm no expert, but I flew into Tel Aviv last year. I was surprised by how easy the experience was. The woman who 'greeted' me at the immigration desk was pretty brusque and rude. I don't know if this was her personality, it was part of the job to rattle me, or if she was grumpy at having to work at three in the morning. But I answered all her questions (Why was I coming to Israel? Did I know anyone there? What was that person's name? Where was I staying?) etc. I have traveled a lot and I am used to answering questions without getting rattled. She looked over my papers and I was on my way. She needed to see my boarding pass from the flight, so perhaps it's a good idea to hold onto that.

One thing: I was asked how long I was staying, and my visa was granted for exactly that time period. So if there is any uncertainty in when you are leaving the country, give the latest date to allow yourself wiggle room.

I traveled by land to Jordan and left from there, so I can't provide advice on the exit process.

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
9 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Immigration & Customs experiences entering Tel Aviv

Good to know, especially the part about the visa. Since I'm an airline employee who flies standby, there's always a chance I'll be bumped and have to stay longer.

Boston...
Level Contributor
158 posts