We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotwire 4 or 4.5 stars? Suggestions?

Michigan
Level Contributor
42 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Hotwire 4 or 4.5 stars? Suggestions?

I am using Hotwire for the first time, and a 4 star in the Mag Mile/Streeterville area is $72 a night, and a 4.5 star is $103 for the night. Does anybody have and suggestions or advice on this? Is it worth the difference? Is there that much difference in the half star? I've never used Hotwire before, and am a little apprehensive. Thanks for any help!

Illinois
Destination Expert
for Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47,589 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotwire 4 or 4.5 stars? Suggestions?

To figure out the hotel, you can match the property star rating and area here - www.betterbidding.com/index.php…

Both of your rates are very good. Is it worth $30 for the 1/2* difference, probably not.

Elk Grove Village...
Level Contributor
1,235 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hotwire 4 or 4.5 stars? Suggestions?

You can often figure out exactly what hotel Hotwire is providing a rate for. Hotwire gives you the number of Stars, the Trip Advisor customer rating, and the general number of Trip Advisor reviews. That should help you narrow down what hotels that could be offered. Additionally, if you read a few reviews, you might be able to figure out which ones other visitors booked through Hotwire. I've used that method to figure out a Hotwire offer in the past and have always been right.

Detroit
Level Contributor
753 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Hotwire 4 or 4.5 stars? Suggestions?