We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coming to Portland looking for Cool Photo spots (in OCT)

Which Portland hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Charlotte, North...
Level Contributor
13 posts
17 reviews
Save Topic
Coming to Portland looking for Cool Photo spots (in OCT)

Hi,

I am coming to Portland (for the first time) in late October.

I am an avid amateur photographer, and I would like to get some location /even pointers from people who know the area.

I may or may not have car, but I travel for a good shot ( ie I traveled 9hrs on a train once to go to Clown festival in Bognor Regis in UK)

Are there dramatic locales, or places where interesting people hang out?

Are there Lobster boats , Seatle Fish Market like places?

As you can imagine I can certainly Google the above questions, so I am hoping some of you who maybe living there can offer some guidance.

Thank you for your time and help.

Turk

Central Maine
Destination Expert
for Maine
Level Contributor
6,667 posts
149 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Coming to Portland looking for Cool Photo spots (in OCT)

The two spots that come to my mind most quickly will both probably require a car.... but may be worth it....

The first is Portland Head Light lighthouse in Cape Elizabeth, Maine -- just a short ride across the brige into South Portland and down Rt 77. If you Google it, you'll get some idea of the photo availabilities and options available there.... an amazing spot in virtually any weather

The second is the harbor in South Freeport -- a short drive north from Portland proper.... following the driving directions for Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster will get you there easily....