We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

where to stay in Martha's vineyard

chicago
Level Contributor
2 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
where to stay in Martha's vineyard

I am new at this so hope that somebody out there will see this questions that knows a little something about the area. I am trying to help plan a trip for three couples to go to Martha's vineyard in Sept for a week. I see there are several towns (Oak Bluffs, Vineyard Haven and Edgartown) that all look nice but wondering which one is the best to stay in for active couples who like to walk to stores and restaurants and who also want to do lots of biking. Do not know anything about the towns so if anybody has some insight that would be great. Also, looking to probably book a house for a week and so if you know of a good website to find rentals let me know that also! Thanks SO much for any help.

Boston, MA
Destination Expert
for Cape Cod, Massachusetts, Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
6,166 posts
161 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: where to stay in Martha's vineyard

Hi, any of the 3 towns would fit your needs - Edgartown is a beautiful old whaling town with tons of shops & restaurants in its center. Oak Bluffs also has a busy center but I would describe it as a little more funky. Vineyard Haven is also a nice town, but I would say there is more to do in E'town & OB. You can rent bikes in any of these 3 towns and visit them all. If you are interested in renting a house, go with a reputable local realtor to ensure that you aren't disappointed. Here is a link to the MV Chamber of Commerce: www.mvy.com/cwt/external/wcpages/index.aspx

If you are going to bring cars over, you need to make ferry reservations ASAP, here is a link for the ferry

http://www.steamshipauthority.com/ssa/

Edited: 21 February 2010, 03:51
Boston
Level Contributor