We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is GR a place to go to skilling

Hong Kong
4 posts
Save Topic
Is GR a place to go to skilling

I am a newbie in skiing. My wife and I are planning to have a short trip in Mihigan for visiting GR, Grand Haven, and ... skiing in Southern or Northern Michigan. Could any guy tell me how to plan this trip? Is it worth for us driving 2 hours to the Northern Michigan for skilling or just going to the nearby Southern ones? Please help ... Anyway, thanks. :)

Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
2,294 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is GR a place to go to skilling

If you are a newbie to skiing, Cannonsburg offers a really good rate on Sunday evenings. It will be good enough if you havent skiied before, although Caberfae Peaks is probably the best closest ski area that I would recommend to you. (1 hr 45 min.) If the weather is bad, I would skip the drive up to Cadilac and just go to Cannonsburg for sure.

If you need restaurant recommendations, there is a post a few down that will help or I can give more.

Thanks

Art

Northern Michigan
Destination Expert
for Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,150 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Is GR a place to go to skilling

I tend to think just the opposite, if I were a newbie skiier on a quasi-ski-weekend, I might well be turned off by the crowded, inadequate runs at Cannonsburg. It's been several years since I've been there but it was always little more than a quick fix for a skiing jones while in GR.