We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning multi-country trekking trip - Nepal, Tibet, China?

San Francisco...
3 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Planning multi-country trekking trip - Nepal, Tibet, China?

Any help appreciated.

I'm kind of new to this, planning for a big trekking trip in May 2013.

I would like to do mostly trekking and presumably hit the big stops on the Annapurna loop, including Everest base camp.

I also want to include Tibet and stops at a few monasteries. (China and India border crossing would be a plus!).

I have been told it is easier/cheaper to book packages once you arrive in Kathmandu. I don't mind doing this since I am traveling alone.

I want to do mostly trekking but wanted to ask you guys:

1. Is it possible to see all of these relatively cheaply?

2. Where would you recommend starting? Kathmandu?

3. Do you know any tour company guies with similar packages?

Last but not least, I am trying to do this for as cheap as possible. Don't need fancy hotels, but any package with food would be great. Touring with big groups or buses not necessary.

I have seen some good packages for 10-15 days at about $1,400 for the tour. Expecting $1,400 for plane ticket. Do you think I can do something extraordinary for about $3,500????

Any help appreciated!!

Settle, United...
Destination Expert
for Nepal, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
2,355 posts
141 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Planning multi-country trekking trip - Nepal, Tibet, China?