We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Visiting Minneapolis

Which Minneapolis hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Sebastopol, CA
4 posts
Save Topic
Visiting Minneapolis

I was born in Minneapolis but my family moved to Calif when I was 5 and I've never been back. I am 60 years old and my sister is 12 years older than me. We lived in the Centerville/Hugo area and she went to White Bear Lake HS.

Next month I am taking my sister on a trip to the mid-West. We are staying with friend in Mason City, IA and plan to drive up in to Minnesota and see the area where she grew up. We'll be spending one night in Forest Lake. Any suggestions of things to do and see would be appreciated. I am an avid amateur photographer and am looking forward to taking pictures. Where should I go?

Minneapolis...
Destination Expert
for Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4,618 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Visiting Minneapolis

Assuming you have no transportation limitations, I would visit one of two places, or both:

1. Chain of Lakes. Specifically Lake Harriet, the prettiest of the chain. This is an area that is designed for walkers, bikers, rollerbladers with low traffic and tons of natural beauty and charm. If it's next month, the sailboats will probably be gone (which is a great photo op always) but it's still lovely and relaxing.

2. Minnehaha Park. Visit the Minnehaha Falls and take a walk down the path to the River. The path lines the creek downstream of the falls and crosses it several times, making for a beatiful walk through a nice wooded area in a limestone valley. Also, stroll around the park above the falls and stop in for ice cream at the shop Sea Salt. I could spend all day there.

Mpls' nicest feature is its parks. Either one will be very memorable.

Sebastopol, CA
4 posts
Save Reply