We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scaredy Cat Driving in the "Big City"

Illinois
Level Contributor
1,413 posts
250 reviews
Save Topic
Scaredy Cat Driving in the "Big City"

I will be driving to St. Louis the end of March with my17 year old daughter and her best friend to visit Washington and St. Louis Universities. I am an experienced driver, I am a good driver, and I hate driving in cities of any kind. Totally stresses me out! Highways are fine, I just hate cities with their one way streets, merges, locals honking at me and showing me their fingers, ha ha etc. We will be coming in on a Sunday and staying at the Drury Inn @ the Arch for two nights. Visiting Wash U on Monday-should I drive or catch a cab? SLU on Tuesday-can we walk to campus? Tempted to park the car Sunday and not get back into it until we're leaving town. Any advice or reassurance greatly appreciated-thanks!!

St. Louis
Destination Expert
for Saint Louis
Level Contributor
2,905 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Scaredy Cat Driving in the "Big City"

There is a Metrolink stop right by Wash U, so you won't need to drive there. For some reason, they didn't put a stop very close to SLU. I find parking around the SLU campus to be pretty easy. I suggest you call the campus and ask them where you can park.

For driving near SLU: Market Street is a straight shot from your hotel to campus. I hate driving on Grand, which is the main street by SLU campus. Cross it and use the couple of roads just west of Grand to avoid frustration.

Parking at Wash U. is really pretty easy on weekends. I parked next to the Kemper Museum at the front of campus Saturday. It was free and the lot was about half full.

What else do you need to know?

St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
34 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Scaredy Cat Driving in the "Big City"