We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upscale casual dining for a solo traveler

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
25 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Upscale casual dining for a solo traveler

Hey forum - I did a search for this topic and the most recent answer I could find was from early 2009, so I thought I'd ask again since restaurants can come and go so quickly in Vegas.

I'm a solo traveler going to Vegas for two nights as a little treat to myself before heading home for the holidays. I've been to Vegas many times, but this is my first time going alone, so most of the restaurants I know are either good for groups or very pricey "splurge" places. I'm looking for good solo dining place, nothing too outrageous, just a friendly, casual restaurant with solid food where I can get a properly mixed cocktail, maybe just eat at the bar. I had one very great and one very mediocre experience at Nob Hill Tavern at MGM Grand, so I probably won't return, but that's sort of the vibe I'm looking for. Suggestions? Thanks!

Providence, Rhode...
Level Contributor
7,451 posts
114 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Upscale casual dining for a solo traveler

As a solo traveler, I have not found any restaurant to be off limits. If I want a particular type of food, I will just go in and ask to be seated either at the bar or a table. So my advice would be to just pick what food you like and go.

I've read on here occasionally that a traveler felt they got attitude from their server when dining alone, but I have always had the opposite experience. The servers always seem to be very helpful and attentive when I'm dining alone.

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6,957 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Upscale casual dining for a solo traveler