We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vegas 1 day stop with kids mid December.

Which Las Vegas hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
texas
4 posts
Save Topic
Vegas 1 day stop with kids mid December.

We have to stop in Vegas for a day on our way to Phoenix and we have a toddler and a 9 year old. We're driving in on a Friday morning and leaving Saturday noon. We have a choice between MGM and Mandalay bay (both offer free parking and Mandalay has free internet as well) I'm an avid photographer and would love to take pictures at night but I've read that the strip is no place for younger kids at night (by night I mean after 7 pm)

Any places I should avoid/see? We're planning on seeing the Shark Reef in MB, roaming around MGM, arcades at Excaliber and a brunch buffet at Ceaser's (are there long lines, should we make reservations ahead?) Also, is there a tram service that runs the length of the Strip?

Thank you!

Boston
Level Contributor
970 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Vegas 1 day stop with kids mid December.

The footbridge between Trop and Excalibur (also NYNY and MGM) is a great spot for Strip pictures at night. However, day or night you will have panhandlers on the footbridges, some assertive, some passive. Some drunk, some not. A life lesson you may or may not want to expose your child to at this age.

Further south on Tropicana is a Pinball Museum. It's just a warehouse with old (and some more-recent) pinball machines, takes quarters, a fun (albeit noisy and chilly) place to hang out with your child for an hour.

MGM has Rainforest Cafe restaurant, fun for kids.

I am not a fan of Excal - it's always seems dirty and dingy to me, so I doubt I'd bring my kids to their arcade.